Disclaimer: [Contact information | Terms and conditions | Privacy Statement | About Click and Buy / Paypal]

updated: september 14, 2017 



Hello & welcome to my small website on D-Models!

My name is Shirley and I'm 35 years old. I live in Amsterdam where I was also born. About 13 years ago I lost both my legs above the knee. In March 2000 I started to feel pain in my legs and it was getting harder to walk. I was rushed into hospital in a very critical condition and it became clear that I was very sick due a tumor in an adrenal gland. I spent 8 days in a coma and when I woke up both my legs were amputated. To save my life my parents had to make the difficult decision to do this. The first months were still very critical and it was a miracle that I survived. After 4 months I was able to leave the hospital and after that I spent 5 months in rehab. First I had to get my strength back because I weighed only 27 kilogram, and after that I had to start adjusting to my new situation. With a bit of a delay because my heart was too weak at first I tried to walk on prosthetic legs, but I didn't go through with it. It didn't feel right and it felt like it didn't suit me, so I decided to use a wheelchair instead. After 9 months I was finally able to go home again. When I look back at this period I can only say that it made me stronger and gave me a much more positive outlook on things. After I survived I got a chance to live again and I saw that as a new beginning and positive turn of events. This big change never bothered me and I also didn't blame my parents to make a drastic choice that changed my life forever.

After secondary school I started to work in a clothing store, but after I got in a wheelchair I wasn't able to do that anymore. With a bit of retraining I do a job now that I can do in my wheelchair and I like that very much! In my personal life not much changed, I do the same things that I used to do before. Things I like to do are singing, going to the cinema, shopping with friends and eating in a nice restaurant. My favourite kind of music is R&B. I also like to go out with my handbike and hanging out in the gym. A few months ago I was asked if I was interested in doing a photoshoot for the D-Models website. I gave it a good thought and decided to do it! I want to show that people with a disability can still look beautiful. I had a bit of expereince as a model because I did some photoshoots for a modelling agency before I got in a wheelchair and even did a new shoot after that. Because of a lack of free time I don't do much with it. Despite of this experience in the past I was a bit nervous for the first shoot but it turned out very well at the end! After the first shoot that was made in the studio we also did an outdoor shoot recently.

I hope you all like my photo's, so I can do more shoots in the future! If you want to know more about me feel free to ask me a question by sending me an email!

  E-Mail: shirley@tajvdz.nl




This website is best viewed with Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0+ at a minimum screen resolution of 1024x768. 
Be aware that this site might not work properly in the Mozilla Firefox browser!
  

Free hits counter & web analytics 



Copyright © tajvdz webdesign, 2013-2017.
All rights reserved.